The Driftless Plowboys

The Driftless Plowboys

David Heuring -  Rhythm Guitar and Vocals
Christo Ruppenthal - Steel Guitar, Lead Guitar, and Plectrum Jazz Banjo
Mark Roeder -  Fiddle and Mandolin
Forrest Evans - Upright Bass

The Driftless Plowboys
1930s Southern String Band meets Western Swing

The Driftless Plowboys are a new band playing vintage music that combines hillbilly pre-country with Hawaiian steel guitar. During the 1920s and '30s, when Hawaiian was the craze in popular music, hillbilly string bands and blues musicians infused their tunes with the exotic glissando of the steel guitar. That's the heart of The Driftless Plowboys repertoire, but this unique quartet also incorporates the Gypsy Jazz of Django Reinhardt and the Western Swing of Bob Wills, as well as more modern country tunes from the '40s and '50s. It's an ear-catching amalgamation of heart, humor and rootsy flavor.

Selected Notable Performances 
The Driftless Plowboys
- Concerts On The Square - Baraboo, WI
- Horicon Phoenix Concert Series - Horicon, WI
- Rural Musicians Forum Concert Series - Mazomanie, WI
- Concerts In The Park - Cambridge, WI
- Stalzy’s Octoberfest - Madison, WI 
- Neenah Public Library Concert Series 
- Live From The Park - Waunakee, WI 
- Slowpoke Lounge and Cabaret 
- Behind The Beat Concert Series - Madison, WI 
- Neenah Library Concert Series - Neenah, WI 

Check Christo's Performance Calendar HERE for The Driftless Plowboys dates!

I Lost My Gal From Memphis

Weary Blues From Waiting